ATTENTION: As of March 2017 the Resin Addict Forums are being wound down.
New members are no longer being accepted. Read more about it here.

Best paint for polyester resin

Discussion of painting

Moderator: Wardens

Best paint for polyester resin

Postby donquijote » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:38 am

Hey Everyone,
I was airbrushing some tinted clear enamel on some pearl shell to color it. When I cast part using castin craft or silmar41 polyester resin it looks like it eats/liquefies the enamel paint. Is there a good clear coat paint I can tint, that won't get destroyed by the resin? Or maybe a better resin?
Thanks for any insight!
donquijote
Casual

Re: Best paint for polyester resin

Postby mangozac » Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:11 am

I have no experience with polyester resin but for something like this you're probably best to talk with the resin manufacturer.
Oh yeah I can make that....
mangozac
Resin Addict Collaborator

Re: Best paint for polyester resin

Postby heribertovalle » Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:24 pm

Hey there man, I may be able to help you. Down here in Mexico, poliester resin is the usual thing since we don't have that many materials, so I might be able to give you pointers.

First: Polyester resin is super ugly. It's good for large casts, art pieces, and small stuff that won't touch food, skin, or the environment in general. It's used in fiber-glass castings and shells as well. Health-wise, it's very dangerous, as the fumes of the catalyzer are cancerogenic. so, take care. It's also brittle. The heat it produces is also very high, and if you mess with the catalyzer there will be shrinkage.

Now, is it all lost? nope. First: Are you using it straight? Polyester resin is almost never used just like that. first: You need to fill it. A filler, is basically ANY inorganic dust you can mix in. There are a lot of them, and some are specially made for very specific purposes (like micro-spheres, which increase thixotropy). Here are some: