[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Resin Addict Forum • View topic - Dealing with bubbles WITHOUT a pressure pot
ATTENTION: As of March 2017 the Resin Addict Forums are being wound down.
New members are no longer being accepted. Read more about it here.

Dealing with bubbles WITHOUT a pressure pot

Questions and discussion of tools, materials and techniques.

Moderator: Wardens

Dealing with bubbles WITHOUT a pressure pot

Postby MaddieResin » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:15 am

Hi there lovely people!

I'm new to resin casting and do not yet have a pressure pot or vacuum chamber and have been trying to figure out how to eliminate the large amount of tiny bubbles that are all over the surface of my resin pieces. Currently, I can't afford a pressure pot/vacuum chamber and was wondering if there was a possibility that I could get around buying it for now. Possibly, I made the mold incorrectly or I could be introducing moisture to the environment. I called Reynolds Advanced Materials and they said that I didn't need to buy a pressure pot and that the mold shouldn't be getting the small bubbles that it is on the surface. Reynolds suggested I leave the mold in the sun for a few hours and that the resin I had bought was too slow of a set time and that the bubbles wouldn't form if I bought a faster setting resin. Also possibly using talcum powder on the surface of the silicone. I tried casting with a hot mold and also mixing the resin in a tub of hot water, which was recommended from a video that I found on youtube. Nothing has worked.

The silicone is Rebound 25.
The resin is Smooth-Cast 321.
I'm adding a few drops of UVO green for coloring.