[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Resin Addict Forum • View topic - total newbie wants to cast this
ATTENTION: As of March 2017 the Resin Addict Forums are being wound down.
New members are no longer being accepted. Read more about it here.

total newbie wants to cast this

Questions and discussion of tools, materials and techniques.

Moderator: Wardens

total newbie wants to cast this

Postby wmich50 » Mon May 05, 2014 5:33 am

These are 3d prints I ordered from Shapeways.
They are 60mm dia x 8mm at the thickest.
One is detail resin, the other is alumite.
Would like to cold cast a couple of bronze copies of the detail print.

Have never tried this, just wondering if it's possible.

I have a vacuum chamber that I've never used, and a gram scale that's probably good enough.

Don't have enough knowledge to have a preference for materials.
Just hoping I can purchase something that will produce satisfactory molds and castings.

One piece mold and gravity pour would suit my capabilities.

Any thoughts will be appreciated.
wmich50
Casual

Re: total newbie wants to cast this

Postby Fleafa » Tue May 06, 2014 12:57 am

Vacuum on it's own may be good enough, though I always use pressure as well.
Do you have a vacuum chamber or just a pump?

Is the back flat? If so, you could do an open cast. Would save having to deal with all those teeth needing runners. Alternative to the runners would be mounting the whole thing on a thin plasticard disc.

Check out Smooth-On's products and tutorials: